Shopping while Black (Double Participation)

Published October 10, 2014 by djlwsu

6 comments on “Shopping while Black (Double Participation)

  • I was astounded by the fact that “shopping when your black” can be as humiliating and hurtful as these videos made it out to be. Being white, I have never given a second thought about what I should wear shopping, if I should be cautious about looking at specific clothing, or avoid certain stores because of the cost. This just goes to show that white privilege is apparent in so many things that often go unnoticed. However, now that I am aware, I will be certain to pay attention the next time I shop, and see if I notice a difference in how black shoppers are treated and how I am treated, because I was completely embarrassed for the shoppers who did not stand up for the black shopper in the experiment. I would never want to be in a situation where I let that discrimination go on right under my nose, so now I am going to be more aware.

    Like

  • Watching those videos really made me see yet again, just how easy I have it. The stat that says 60% of black people have been followed or questioned while shopping just blows my mind. I don’t think I’ve ever worried about someone questioning me, or not believing me when I tell them what I was doing.

    The first video’s take was really disheartening. I understand the sarcasm behind it, but the fact that that kind of sarcasm is believed to be valid points by a lot of white people really hurts. Acting respectful and dressing well is good, but I don’t have to, and I’m treated as well as anyone really can be. Why black people have to try so hard, especially if they’re still going to be mistreated? What is the security guard’s response to someone waving, saying hi, or smiling, is to think they’re guilty, or up to something?

    The social experiment with seeing how people would react was also intriguing. I honestly don’t know what I’d do. If the security guard intervened I know I wouldn’t say anything, mainly out of self preservation.

    Watching the last video with the woman talking about being questioned really hurt to watch, especially the end. Even with people understanding she was being profiled, she still had to defend her purchase. Why does anyone care if she should or should not have bought the bag? She still had to defend herself, even when people knew she was innocent in the aftermath, she still had to.

    Like

  • I was extremely astounded with these videos, I never knew that this type of racism towards customers in stores was so real and could be as blunt as some claim to have experienced. As a teenager who worked in the clothing industry for a summer job a few months ago I always respected everyone despite their age, race, or how they dressed. I never paid more attention to theft with people of color, rather I was just always aware of who was in the store and what they were doing while they shopped. I was amazed to hear one lady say that she has to worry about what she wears before she goes out shopping in public due to the way people may judge her. When I think about things like this and realize that they do take place in this world I realize the privileges I have and try to put myself in someone else’s shoes who has to worry about such ridiculous things because of their race.

    Like

  • Being “Pretty Woman-ed” has officially became a term. It is extremely sad that people are being treated like they don’t belong in a certain store just because of the color of their skin. As noted previously, 60% of black people have experienced “shopping while black” discrimination. That is a huge number and is wrong. No man or woman should be afraid of being frisked or humiliated just by entering a store to do some shopping. Profiling is an unacceptable practice. Why should white criminality be considered “rare” and high black criminality seem normal? It shouldn’t. The idea of mollifying is absurd. If someone works hard for their money they should be able to spend it on whatever they want. The woman who bought an expensive bag only to be attacked by officers and treated like criminal had bought that bag honestly and did not deserve such harsh treatment. In response, the only question is, what do we as a society do to end such discriminatory practices?

    Like

  • Watching these videos absolutely didn’t shock me at all. Being an African American this has happen to me also. I was shopping at Forever 21 with my older sister and it was a rainy day so we both had our black jackets and hoods entering the mall because we were both cold. There was a woman following us around the store we felt so uncomfortable we left. Another day my older sister and I went to Sephora, which is an expensive make up store and another sale associate was following us until we brought the item we wanted to the cashier then she stopped but this time my sister said something to her and the worker which then after they did apologize for their actions. “Shopping While Black” still exists to me and I feel like it will always exist. We are given this image to everyone that we can’t erase. Being in these situations honestly get tiring and makes you feel like racism will never stop and stereotypes will live with us until we die. We are all born with different priviliges and thats what makes it even harder for us people today.

    Like

  • One thing that I didn’t expect was 60 percent of black shoppers are likely to be follows in store. First video suggests black people should act like white while shopping or bring white friends. Behaving like white and having white friends doesn’t change the fact that you’re black. Instead of ignoring this problem face them because more you ignore more it’s come. For example if you get followed in stored simply ask person, why are you following me? If they pretend than report them. Second video show how people react in certain circumstance. This was experience on “shopping while black”. When one guy say “she probably play black card” I didn’t understand the mean but it sound offensive. While watching the video I expect many people to stand up for victim but it was opposite less people confirm. And those how stand up for black were black.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

