Stereotypes at home (Online Writings)

Published October 9, 2014 by djlwsu
Come up with a list of 10 questions questions you’d like to ask your parents, grandparents or an older family member about their stereotypes. Think about specifics and give some detail as to why these questions, what you are hoping to learn, etc.

Last day to participate October 25

***Remember 350-400 words and integrate specifics from readings and course materials

18 comments on “Stereotypes at home (Online Writings)

  • I have had a few conversations with my parents about who i am and how my life would be different if my parents were different as well. My dad is a very successful white man who is one of the top engineers at Boing, and my mom is a black/native American who also has a very successful job, and putting them together have given me a very great live and i am privileged in many ways I think. But with having interracial parent and me myself being a dark skinned male, comes with its stereotypes weather they are good or bad. some questions i would ask my relatives and past generations about their stereotypes and mine. i would ask first 1) how it was for my mom being black and living in Montana for most her life and the looks and stereotypes she was giving because off that. 2) how my dad was seen and what stereotypes my dad got for being white in that time and having a black girl friend. 3) i would really like to ask one of my very old family members on my mom side about being black back then and what came with that. 4) how my mom felt going into the work world and if because she was a women even in this time did she feel discriminated against or stereotype. 5) then ask my grandma how different the work places have changed from when she started working and the atmosphere by the end of her working career.6) did my black relatives feel like they were always seen as a criminal.7)did my white relatives feel like they were privileged and had the stereotyped as being better than other races. 8)if my colored relatives that were native American feel like they were pushed out of their lands and feel like people just saw them as animals as they are starytyped.9)if my black relatives didn’t play sports or were not good at sports did they feel like they were letting people down and didn’t live up to that stereotype. 10) And if they were white did they feel like if they didn’t want to go to college and weren’t good at school and maybe just wanted to be good at sports, did they feel like they were also letting people down.

    Like

  • I’ve had a couple of conversations with my parents about race, especially because my mom always reminds me that many Latino’s do not get the opportunity to attend college. Both of my parents are Mexicans. The first thing i would ask my parents is 1) How hard was it to live in a low income family 2) Did you guys know that college was not an option 3) Did you guys know that you would be the next generation to not attending college but instead working to take care of your other siblings and help pay bills for the family 4) Was their anyone in the family that did not play soccer at all 5) How hard was it to start a new life in America 6) No college degree, no white privilege, how hard was it to find a job and a home 7) How hard was it to learn a new language and pay for an apartment with no connection at all 8) Did you get a lot of criticism at work and insults about your race 9) Have you ever experienced not getting a job because of your race 10) Do you get a lot of jokes thrown at you guys for having part time jobs as a house keeper or working in agriculture

    Like

  • 1. Grandma, what was it like being married to someone who did not let your daughters date any one of color? Did you agree with it?
    2. Grandpa, why didn’t you like your daughters dating someone of color? What was it that made you so strict on not allowing that to happen?
    3. Mom, what did you think about you and your sisters not being aloud to date someone of color? Was it hard to not do so?
    4. Mom, when you were at school were you and your sisters known for having a racist father? Or was the majority of your school like that anyway?
    5. Grandpa, what was it like living around Indians? Did you feel like you were different than others? Did you feel safe and unharmed? Did you like living around them?
    6. Dad, how come the “N” word was used so fluently back then? Did anyone ever use it in a good context, ever?
    7. Josh, (big brother), what do you think is the reason why those Native Americans did not tip your white wife anything every time that she serves them? Is it because there are being racial and stereotypical towards the white female or because you think that they cannot afford to give a tip?
    8. Grandma, why did you get mad at grandpa every time he would go out and fish with the Indians? What did they do to you for you to not want your husband fishing with them?
    9. Mom or Dad have either of you ever dated someone of color and think about the color of their skin often and it affected your future with that individual?
    10. Grandma, Grandpa, Dad, Mom, and Josh, did you guys pick the locations you all live in now based on the different races geographically? And why?

    On my mom’s side of the family, my grandma married a man where my mom ended up gaining 4 other sisters. My mom is the only child out of her family who was not fully related to her sisters. My grandpa, was, and is still, a high-class white individual, where back in the day he was very racial and strict towards his daughters and even my mom. He would not allow them to date anyone of color. It was not even a question that the girls could even ask. It makes me wonder how my mom and aunts had handled that at school (they lived in a small town, and went to a very small high school, where everyone knew everything). On my dad’s side of the family, my dad grew up in Montana in a neighborhood of Native Americans. My grandma would always get angry at my dad and grandpa whenever they would go out and fish and hunt with their Native friends. It makes me curious as to why she would get mad and what the Natives did to her for her to not like them. My older brother recently just posted on Facebook on how frustrated it makes him that his white wife has not been tipped at all by Native Americans where there is another waitress who is Native who has gotten tips, but not very good ones. I want to know what my older brother thinks is the reason why the Native Americans don’t tip his wife; if it is because of her ethnicity or is it because of their socioeconomic status. I also want to know from my dad if the “N” word was ever used in a positive context. The reason why I only asked him is because I did get my dads opinion on how Montana (geographically) was very racial towards African American individuals, and may even still be. I just want to know if the “N” word was ever used in a positive context, like we almost kind of do today. I see and hear a lot of people throw the word around now like they are joking and it like it does not hurt feelings. I just want to know if it was like that back in the day, and if it was in Montana than it probably was everywhere else.

    Like

  • 1. Dad how did you deal with the constant racial slurs thrown your way on a daily basis?
    2. Dad how do you feel knowing that the only times you’ve gotten pulled over it was for no apparent reason (both times for being a “suspicious vehicle”)?
    3. Dad how does it feel going from a minimum wage job and working 70 hours a week in a warehouse, to being the boss at your job now?
    4. Dad how did you feel when the airport security flagged your name because it “sounded suspicious” and pulled you aside to question you?
    5. Grandma how do you feel about being the boss of a cactus business and not knowing any English in the US?
    6. Grandma how hard was it for you to let your children cross the border alone knowing the risks they faced?
    7. Grandpa are you pound to have been a Bracero in the 1950’s?
    8. Susana are you proud that you got hired as a receptionist primarily because you are bilingual?
    9. Stephanie, how do you feel about all of the negativity (from outsiders) towards you being an immigration lawyer?
    10. Stephanie, how do you feel about your closest friends mocking you about your career path?

    My father went from working a hard job, with no benefits, to being the boss at his company now. He came to the US not knowing any English and having to learn to fend for himself. When my dad arrived to his current job, his coworkers were not accepting of him at all. His coworkers would make fun of his accent and say nasty things to get to him. He never once got discouraged, these comments only made him want to work harder, which paid off because now they work for him. My grandma stayed in Mexico while my dad and his brothers and sister crossed the border. I can only imagine how scared she was. Now, she lives in Bakersfield California and owns a cactus company, she cannot speak English but does understand it. My grandpa came to the US in the 1950’s as a Bracero, then sent back to Mexico. Susana, my aunt, got a job solely because she is bilingual. My sister Stephanie is studying to be an immigration lawyer and has a lot of negative speculation but she is headstrong and is determined to make it. Aside from strangers doubting her career choice, her friends are not very supportive either. I chose to ask these specific questions to try to gain insight on what my family has been through. I have not experienced nearly as much as they have.

    Like

  • 1) Dad, were stereotypes in South Dakota different than the ones in Washington, and more specifically Eastern Washington? If so how were they different and why do you think they are different?
    2) Grandpa, was owning a farm and hiring mostly Hispanic workers changed your thoughts about Hispanics? Did they have something more to offer than another race? How has this changed your stereotypes about Hispanics and other races?
    3) Erik, (brother), has living in Seattle changed your stereotypes? Especially about Asians and other popular races over there? Does Eastern Washington think about people different than Western Washington?
    4) Grandma and Grandpa, did growing up in South Dakota effect your stereotypes you have now? How would they differ if you stayed in South Dakota? Do you think one place is better than the other?
    5) Mom, do you think your stereotypes are different than your friends you grew up with? How do you think they differ? And why?
    6) Aunt and Uncle, has working at the farm changed the way you think about a specific race? If so what race and how has it changed? Do you think you would have encountered these stereotypes if you didn’t work at the farm?
    7) Grandpa, has traveling the world changed your outlook on people? If so how has it changed? Do you think it’s a good thing or bad?
    8) Mom, has working with people of every raced influenced your stereotype about people? What race of people has influenced you the most? And Why?
    9) Dad, do you think your friends that you grew up with have different stereotypes than you? Was living in a small town an influence on your current stereotypes?
    10) Cooper, (brother), has living away from Yakima changed your outlook on people? If you could change one stereotype what would it be? And Why?

    Coming from a family that has owned a farm their whole life has impacted their stereotypes about people as well as mine. My dad’s side of the family grew up in South Dakota then moved to Prosser (a small town in Eastern Washington). My mom’s side of the family has always lived in the Yakima Valley. I think that where my parents grew up and how they make a living has the biggest impact on their current stereotypes and I have inherited them as well.

    Like

    • 1. I would ask my great uncle if being a veteran of WW II created a stereotype against the Germans and Japanese. This has always intrigued me. Can you really hate a whole race just because of the past evil that it may have been involved in even though they may have changed now? Is there room for forgiveness? 2. I would ask my mother how her stereotype changed for Hawaiian Natives changed when she moved to Hawaii at a young age. Were they nice to you, did they act differently than expected? My mom said she really enjoyed living in Hawaii however, she also said the transition to the schools there were very hard and whites were not particularly liked. 3. I would ask my mom what it’s like moving from a middle school where Caucasian was the majority to a middle school where she was the minority. How did that effect your social life, academics and attitude? Did this affect her emotional or mentally? Did this have a lasting impact on her personality? 4. Grandpa and grandma did you ever not date someone due to their color of skin? Was it because your parents would not approve of your choices; were you afraid of other people’s judgment? Now it is more widely acceptable, did you guys even converse communicate with people of other color back in high school? 5. Grandpa how has time affected your work in terms of meeting individuals on a national level and predetermining their stereotype in comparison to how they actually act?
      6. Grandpa and grandma, do you think that traveling the world and on a first account meeting many different individuals in different countries has affected your stereotypes of people as a whole; in a positive or negative fashion? Everyone has stereotypes, did your effect your viewpoints? 7. Dad what was it like being sent to a primarily white private school then transferring and going to a public high school? How did your stereotypes change for individuals and were you right about those initial stereotypes? 8. Tyler has being a cop affected your view points on certain groups of people? Have your prior stereotypes been initially reinforced or have they changed based on your experiences? If so, what group stereotypes have been reinforced and which ones have changed? It seems like on tv its always people of color getting in trouble with the police, what about everyone else? 9. Grandpa what was it like moving and working in Hawaii where you became the minority and were working with a different group of people? Did your stereotypes for those individuals change as you worked for them? Do you think their stereotypes of you changed over time as well? 10. Dad did you choose where to live based on the schools stereotypes knowing that I would one day be attending that school? How important was that to you and were you right about those stereotypes? Were you willing to make financial risks to embitter my future? Do you think high school stereotypes are then embedded into the individuals that follow the crowd?

      Like

  • 1. Mom, what was it like having the “privileged life” stereotype because you are white but not actually being privileged?
    2. Dad, I know that the majority of your parents generation dealt with racism and still do. What was it like knowing the only friends your parents would like had to be white?
    3. Aunt Michaela, What is it like marrying into an all white family and being the only one of another race at family get togethers?
    4. Grandma, Having a german accent, do you notice discrimination against you even though you have lived here for half of your life now?
    5. Grandpa, Growing up in a racist home, do you still have issues accepting the fact that the world is not so much this way anymore?
    6. Jordan, being football captain, do you notice the coaches treat the black football players differently from the white ones?
    7. Aunt Soleil, being adopted from China, do you recognize the difference in privileges offered in the US vs. there? Was being adopted from a foreign country an advantage when it came to applying for colleges?
    8. Soleil, In high school because you are asian did you notice people tried to copy off of you because of the assumption that you are smart?
    9. Cousin Morgan, do you notice that people look at you differently from your brother because the asian traits on you are more dominant where as the white is more dominant for him?
    10. Uncle Casey, what is it like to be the only male in the family who is extremely open about your sexuality and being gay? How was it bringing home your partner to meet everyone for the first time?

    These questions refer to my family and the history behind us and how they are different from where we are now. My mother was born into an extremely poor family and of course because she is white, everyone looked at her as privileged while in reality she was struggling tremendously. Luckily being the first one to go through college, her and my dad have both managed to become extremely successful and provide their kids with a life they never had. I sometimes wonder if they wish we could experience what they went through to get where they are today to an extent because we are so used to having everything handed over to us and not having to work for it. My Grandpa grew up in a very racist home with the mind set that if you are not white, you cannot come anywhere near. And sometimes i wonder if that part of his life is still hard for him to let go now that the world is very accepting of different races. My grandmother, originally from Germany, has a very noticeable German accent and when I go out with her often times i notice people try and take advantage of that and it is really disappointing. People assume that because she has a German accent she doesn’t know anything and won’t notice if they try and rip her off. Another thing I have always wondered when it comes to my family is about my gay uncle. He is the only male to come out to the rest of us about his sexuality and i know he has had a very hard time with it especially with the older people in our family who are very anti-gay and grew up thinking that was wrong. I often question what gave him the bravery to come out about it and if he notices and awkward tensions between other non gay males in the family now that they know he is into males. In the book “Reproducing racism” chapter 4 “Oh dad, Poor dad” we learn about the concept of positive feedback loops and I think that from the rasism that people went through when they were younger and the opposing patterns of behavior, like our grandparents, we have learned that today that kind of stuff is not ok so from negative times, we gain positive.

    Like

  • 1. Mom: Did you ever experience Racism?
    2. Mom: What was life like in the Louisiana compared to Massachusetts?
    3. Mom: describe your schooling as a child
    4. Grandma: what’s the history of our family?
    5. Uncle: can you describe things you noticed as a black youth, and maybe some ways stereotypes have negatively impacted you?
    6. Dad: coming to America can you tell me about how you were treated as an immigrant
    7. Dad: did the color of your skin change any perceptions
    8. Auntie Wanda: What was the military like for you? Did you experience any hardships because of your race or gender?
    9. Siblings: did you ever feel like a stereotype shaped your actions or self-reflection?
    10. Auntie Kim: How has race affected your life?

    All these questions I feel help me open up a different effect of stereotypes on my family. The 1st question I ask my mom is because my mom seems to be very aware of how her skin color changes situations. Her ability to see herself like this tells me she has faced stereotypes. 2nd question to my mom because of the distinct differences in the societies she lived.3rd I ask her about schooling because she describes a poor schooling experience. What disadvantages did her predominantly black school district have? Maybe I can learn about some moments of white flight or the redlining effects of her housing. 4th I decide to ask my grandma the origins of our family. I ask her this question hopefully to pair my ancestors identity with a treatment they received or a view society holds of them .5th I ask my uncle this because he was jailed at 17 and let out in his 30’s. Was his treatment fair under the law and are his hopes of assimilating to society fair? 6th I ask my Dad about his immigration here to American because of the many stereotypes society holds.7th I ask this follow up question because my dad is from Africa. But unlike all stereotypes he’s not black. His family is from Algeria in northern Africa.8th I ask this to my aunt Wanda because she is an African America women that served in the United States Army. Many stereotypes target a women’s strength and racial tension historically occurs in the Army. 9th My siblings and I all experience different lives.10th because my aunt is the only one married into a white family.

    Like

  • 1.) Mom, how was it like to move to the United States in 2007 after living in Japan your whole life?
    2.) Dad, being raised in a not so fortunate home in North Carolina how different is your life now?
    3.) Dad, living in Abu Dhabi, how is racism portrayed there?
    4.) Grandma (mom’s side), how did you take the news that your daughter was going to marry an African American male?
    5.) Grandma (dad’s side), how did you take the news of your son marrying a Japanese woman?
    6.) Dad, was there clear racism when you were in the navy? Like within your crew and also in the many different places that you traveled to as well.
    7.) Mom and Dad, how did you guys overcome your social and religious differences?
    8.) Mom and Dad, was raising two biracial kids difficult? How was it in Japan? How was it in the United States?
    9.) Grandpa (dad’s side), how was it moving to the United States from Barbados and how did you become so successful in the United States?
    10.) Grandma (mom’s side), what was it like for you to live in New York while your kids were in North Carolina getting raised by your parents?

    Having parents with complete different backgrounds has exposed me to many different views on many concepts. My mom is full Japanese, born and raised in the city of Tokyo, Buddhist and came from a middle class family (My grandma was a stay at home mom while my grandpa was a sushi chef and she has two other sisters). On the other hand, my dad is African American born in New York and raised on a farm in North Carolina by his grandparents whom were very strong Baptists with his half brother, sister and very close in age uncles and cousins. On top of that, my dad was in the navy which caused us to move around and exposed us to many different societies such as Japan, southern California, Washington, and Abu Dhabi. So, with literally completely different parents and moving around I have gained a great deal of experience with racism and/or how people in different societies act.

    Like

  • 1.Dad, have you ever noticed that you got treated differently because you are a white male?
    2.Dad, what is it like being married to a women of color?
    3.Grandma, being black, how did you deal with racial slurs growing up in Florida?
    4.Mom, do you ever experience racism?
    5.Grandma, how did you deal with racism?
    6.Grandparents, what is the history of our family?
    7.Dad, did you see coaches treat black runners differently from whites when you ran track in high school?
    8.Mom, how did it feel growing up in a predominately white area?
    9.Mom, Have you been suspected of anything because you are black?
    10.Have you experienced any hardships because of your race or gender?

    I would ask these questions because my dad is white and my mom is black. I always wondered if people looked at my parents differently since they are a interracial couple. My mom told me once that my grandpa did not like my dad at first because he was white. My dad being a white male people always assume that he’s the one with a college education and higher education than my mom but it happens to be the other way around. My dad didn’t finish even college and my mom makes more money a year than my dad. I’ve also wondered if the color of my moms skin has ever played a role when trying to get a job. Also when my parents were in high school my dad ran track and I’ve wondered how that was because of the stereotype that black people are better runners than non-black. My mom grew up in a mostly white area, she has told me that there were only like three other black families in town, so I’ve also wondered what that was like not have people “that looked like you” around. My grandparents on my mom side grew up in the south when they were younger and I’ve always wondered if they ever faced racism and if it was bad, and if they weren’t allowed in certain areas because of the color of their skin.

    Like

  • In the past I have not really talked to my parents about race and stereotypes but I have with my grandparents and my friends grandparents which led to a very interesting conversation. If I had to line up a couple questions they would be..

    1) Grandpa, did you ever have a best friend of color when you were growing up?
    2) If so, were you accepted or frowned upon on by your peers/family?
    3) Dad, do you think being white has helped you in your career today?
    4) Dad, since you were an army brat and moved around so much, did you ever live in a “non-white” neighborhood?
    5) Mom, have you ever felt stereotyping towards you for being a successful white woman from your black friends?
    6) Grandpa, moving from Belgium to the US, did you see any difference in white and black stereotypes?
    7) Grandpa, since you worked on a farm in Belgium, did you family ever get involved in the use of slaves?
    8)Dad, what race did was the most predominant in the class you graduated with?
    9) Dad,Has that domination changed in your workplace compared to when you graduated?
    10) Grandma, In Europe were white people characterized and stereotyped the same and they are in America?

    My father moved around every year because my grandpa was in the military, and my mother also moved a lot, considering she was born in Belgium. I would be very interested to hear if the racial slurs and stereotypes were similar from where they moved. I would be most interested to hear the comparison my grandparents had moving from Belgium to America. It is already such a culture shock that I wonder if segregation was similar there as is was in America.

    Like

  • 1.) Dad, in Oklahoma was racism and stereotypes common and how did people use it? What did people do or say when you were there in 1975?
    2.) Mom, when you first started in USA what did your co-workers do that would equate to stereotypes? How did that affect you thoughts on your job?
    3.) Auntie, how was middle school and high school at the time for you when you came over? Did your friends treat you differently because of your race and what’s the typical stereotypes that you picked up from them?
    4.) Uncle, when starting your start-up company, getting the company registered did the people there have stereotypes on your future outcome, did the bank loan you money or made a reason for not allowing you to get a loan?
    5.) Dad, during the first few months in USA, how did people treat you at the time because a lot of them have never seen Asians before?
    6.) Mom and Dad, have you guys thought of dating outside your own race/culture, would that change the way other family members look at you?
    7.) Auntie, married to a white guy has other people put stereotypes on you based off of that or is there a different way people treat you?
    8.) Cousin Deb, how many guys have you dated other than Asians and what’s the stereotypes people talk about during conversations about it?
    9.) Cousin Peggy, have you ever considered getting married to someone from another race?
    10.) Cousin Steven, how was the stereotype in the military, did people pick on you because of your color or give Asians a stereotypical term to go by?
    Pertaining to the question, my feedback from my cousins varied when it came to marriage and dating people from other races. Both Deb and Peggy agreed that dating anyone is fine and color didn’t matter at all. To them it was about the chemistry, but when I asked about marriage they had different point of views. Deb is open for any type of marriage, but Peggy is more traditional and tends to want to marry someone who is Asian. As for my Auntie, she married my Uncle Robert, who is white and they are happy together with 2 kids. Our family doesn’t have any opinions about them being together. There are stereotypes that they have encountered when going out together, people sometimes talk about them, but most people are fine with it. As for my parents, when the both came to USA they had to learn everything. They barely knew any English and at the time for my Dad he was in Oklahoma and he stated that the people there were completely shocked to see an Asian at the time because there really weren’t any, around 10 Asians in the whole University. I asked about different name callings he got when he was there based off of stereotypes: four eyes, chink, shorty, small, nerd, and etc. I asked how he got used to it and my dad said he called them back to what he wanted to call them.

    Like

  • My mom was born in North Dakota in a small town with an all white community which didn’t provide her with much, if any, opportunities to experience different races. However, I was adopted from China, so my first question would be why did she chose to adopt from a different country? Why did she specifically choose China? And then were there any other countries in which she looked into? Did the stereotypes of the different cultures play any role in her decision? There are so many choices out there now, has adoption changed in numbers or even just the perception of adoption? Was it different than it was 20 years ago?

    There are many stereotypes addressed to being a working mother, let alone a single mother. Was she ever told because she was a single working woman that it was going to be too hard to adopt? After returning home did people ever look at us different because she was a white woman with an Asian daughter? Or even in China were people okay with families coming from the US to adopt these children and bring them back to America? If they were okay with it do you think they knew about the different privileges offered in the US that I would receive here, that I could not get staying in China?

    From just taking this class I have had a lot of great conversations about stereotypes with my friends but these would be the questions that I would direct to my mom.

    Like

  • 1. Dad- How did going to almost an all white school in a country town affect your stereotypes of other races growing up?
    2. Dad- Has your opinion changed on surrounding towns from your high school now that you actually know more about them because that is where I was raised and you can see how they really are?
    3. Dad- Were any of your stereotypes true or did you find them to be false now that you can see what they are really like with your own eyes?
    4. Grandpa- How has working on the railroad and seeing different parts of the country affected the way you stereotyped people depending on where they are from.
    5. Grandpa- Did people stereotype you as you drove throughout the country and did you race, occupation, or the way you dressed affect this?
    6. Other Grandpa- What kind of stereotypes did you have about the United States before coming here, were they good or bad and did they fulfill them or was it different than you expected?
    7. Grandma- What kind of stereotypes did you have about grandpa when he first came here to visit, did you think of him differently because of his background and where he was from, did he seem different?
    8. Mom- Has you being stereotyped at your job affected your attitude or got in the way of your performance and does it ever get hard being a women in a mostly male dominated job?
    9. Step Dad- How has your race affected the way you have been stereotyped growing up in the area that you did, were you stereotyped in sports a lot and did it bother you?
    10. Uncle- How did playing college sports ever open you up to being stereotyped more than in high school did people ever say your race helped you, and if so what was your reaction?

    We talk in class a lot about race and how that affects stereotypes in sports in class so i wanted to get an opinion from my family members that played high school and college sports to see if this ever happened to them and if there was i difference. Also my grandparents have done a lot of traveling for work and one of my grandpas actually moved here from another country at the age of 20 so I wanted to get views of stereotyping on a bigger scale because i have not been to as many places as them. My father has told me a lot about how him and his friends when they were my age judged and stereotyped the school that I went to for high school so I thought i would ask him questions about now that i have graduated from there if any of those have changed.

    Like

  • 1. Have you been forced to change some of the language that you used to use, or was considered acceptable before the civil rights movement? I would ask this question because I know for a fact that there are certain phrases and language that my grandparents used to say, that would be controversial in our present society.
    2. Have you ever personally been on the receiving end of a negative stereotype? My parents are both white, but my grandma is from the Philippines, so she could quite possibly have been stereotyped against after immigrating to America.
    3. Have one of your personal friends ever been on the receiving end of a negative stereotype? One of my friends from high school was seriously discriminated against because she was black, and it impacted my own thoughts toward stereotyping. I am interested to see if my parents ever felt the same way.
    4. Have you ever felt guilty for judging someone based on a preliminary stereotype? As countless of the readings have taught us, including our textbook by Roithmayer, we are all guilty of having racist thoughts or actions towards racial groups. Stereotyping is a form of racism, and although nobody likes to admit it, we are all guilty of being racist at one point or another, so I would ask this question to see whether or not they would admit it.
    5. How much do you think our younger generation has improved on eliminating stereotypes in society?
    6. Did you learn anything about stereotypes from an older generation?
    7. Seeing the progress being made over the years, do you think there is a future with no stereotypes?
    8. Do you think the way you raised your kids helped them to be open-minded, or reinforcing the already common stereotypes? I would ask these generational questions because I have learned from the readings that stereotyping is most often a learned behavior. We can’t help but follow our parents and grandparents’ examples just like people cannot help but benefit from positive feedback loops. So much of who we are and how we act is influenced by who we are surrounded by, and I am interested to hear the perspective from the older generation, and their take on the stereotyping issue.
    9. Do you think stereotyping is a major societal issue, and should be treated with more time and care?
    10. Do you think our government should be doing more about stereotyping, or do you think they are doing enough? These questions would be good to ask because we need to form a plan on how to deal with stereotypes. Specifically, we can avoid stereotyping issues such as redlining, and homeowners associations.

    Like

  • 1. What was your first experience of being stereotype?
    2. What rascal terms have you been called in your lifetime?
    3. Have you seen white privilege happen right in front of you?
    4. How did segregation in California affect you mentally?
    5. How did your stereotypes play a part in what type of jobs you could get?
    6. How did you handle stereotypes in your younger years and how do you deal with racism now?
    7. Have you ever called someone out for being racist?
    8. How has racism and stereotypes changed throughout your lifetime?
    9. What are some differences you noticed from where you lived and where white people lived?
    10. Did the police use stereotypes towards you or anyone you knew when you lived in California?
    I would like to ask these questions to both my parents who are Mexican. My parents lived in the ghetto in Los Angles, California where they experience racism on a daily basis. I would ask these questions to learn how they dealt with stereotypes when they were young and how they deal with it now when they are grown up. Also I would like to know how much stereotypes affected them throughout their daily lives. I remember stories that my dad told me about white police officers racially profiling him and his friends. I wonder how that affected him on how he looked at other white people and if it changed how he would act around regular white people that weren’t the police. Also I would like to know that just because my dad is Mexican and the stereotype of Mexicans always working in landscaping or other agricultural jobs did he feel obligated to only apply for those jobs or did he just know since he was Mexican that he couldn’t get another job because of racism. Lastly I would really like to know if my dad ever was able to call someone out for saying something racist or did he just have to stay quiet because of where he lived.

    Like

  • 1. Tanner (brother), how has being gay changed your view on other people and what do you think their pre-meditated thoughts are about you? Do you think its privilege to be ‘born straight?’ Are you born gay or straight? Or was it developed throughout your childhood like other stereotypes?
    2. Mom, being a blonde woman are you stereotyped into an unintelligent group? And being a self-made success with your own law firm how do people react?
    3. Kris (cousin), do people assume you’re smart after one look at you because you’re half Asian? When you tell them you dropped out of college are they surprised? Does that micro-aggression bother you?
    4. Grandma, even though you’re not senile, do people try to treat you differently from how you were treated when you were younger? Do people try to take advantage of this stereotype?
    5. Richard (uncle in-law), I am aware that racism, especially of your race, is still alive. However, do you sincerely feel lower than other prejudice races? Are prejudices relevant in our family? How can this family and I help to put your stereotype and uneasiness related to it to rest?
    6. Dad, do people stereotype you as a dangerous person because you have tattoos? Has someone made a pre-meditated decision about what type of person you are based on your tattoos? How have these affected you in job interviews?
    7. Dad, How were you stereotyped after moving from Indiana to Washington by Washingtonians as a farm kid? Even though you weren’t.
    8. Luke (step brother), growing up in La Conner, Washington (town of mainly Native American reservation), did you experience stereotyping from them as the “white guys?” Did your group of friends (subconsciously) stereotype them?
    9. Tanner (brother), when you moved to Chicago, did your new friends expect you to be a stoner or gay with what they know and what is stereotyped of Seattle?
    10. Dad, being a conservative, white businessman, are you stereotyped as a racist and prejudice guy? Even though you aren’t.

    I ask these questions because I have an exceedingly diverse and large family. These stereotypes affect everyone and are hugely prevalent not only in my family, but in today’s society. I explored the idea of privilege and applied to a couple people in my family and I think my family members are aware of this concept. Whether it’s consciously or not, these are questions that I sincerely wonder if they are aware of.

    Like

  • 1) Dad, how was it moving from a predominantly Black school to a predominantly White school your junior year of high school?
    2) Grandpa, what was it like growing up in Baton Rouge Louisiana in the 1960’s? How often were you attacked with racism?
    3) Mother, you being fairly liberal how was growing up and starting your life in Texas for you?
    4) Grandmother, how did growing up with a white step father in the 1960’s effect you today and was it tough for you at all?
    5) Parents, have you ever held bitterness towards white people because how they treated your parents and you growing up in the 20th century, and what have you done to overcome that bitterness over the years if you have it.
    6) Uncle, how is it like living in an all white neighborhood? Do you feel like the people around you question why you are there in curiosity? Do you feel like they feel as if you don’t belong there?
    7) Aunt, how did you feel after your son’s high school football coach did nothing to help the black players get to play on the next level and only helped the white players then got fired for this cruel act and your son ended up not playing football at a university?
    8) Grandpa, how was it working as the only black man at your factory job in the 1970’s and always being made fun of because all your co workers assumed you were not a hard worker because you were black?
    9) Father, what was it like traveling to other countries as a black man? Did people treat you good or bad?
    10) Mother, was going through school to be a registered nurse make you run into any problems at a job that not many black women have?

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

